2016 NYFA Fellowships Awarded to Light Work Artists

The New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) recently announced the recipients and finalists of its 2016 Artists’ Fellowship Program, awarding a total of $647,000 to 98 artists (including five collaborations). Several of the artists honored in the discipline of Photography have been previously (and in some cases, currently!) supported by Light Work as either Artists-in-Residence, Light Work Grant Recipients, Light Work Exhibiting Artists, or a combination of all three.

Included in the list of honorees this year are artists Sylvia de Swaan, Takahiro Kaneyama, Susannah Sayler & Edward Morris, Pacifico Silano, Lida Suchy, John Trotter, Linn Underhill, and Shen Wei.

We would like to wish a warm congratulations to the Light Work Artists!

Sylvia de Swaan Light Work Artist-in-Residence: 1990; Light Work Grant Recipient: 1977, 1992, 2001; Light Work Exhibiting Artist: 1980

Takahiro Kaneyama Light Work Artist-in-Residence: 2016

Susannah Sayler & Edward Morris Light Work Grant Recipients: 2012

Pacifico Silano Light Work Artist-in-Residence: 2016

Lida Suchy Light Work Artist-in-Residence: 1994; Light Work Grant Recipient: 2016, 2010; Light Work Exhibiting Artist: 2003

John Trotter Light Work Artist-in-Residence: 1999

Linn Underhill Light Work Artist-in-Residence: 1983; Light Work Grant Recipient: 1995; Light Work Exhibiting Artist: 1983, 1985, 1987, 1996

NYFA_2016_ShenWeiShen Wei Light Work Artist-in-Residence: 2010; Light Work Exhibiting Artist: 2012

View the full list of 2016 NYFA Artist Fellowship recipients here.