The Light Work Annual 2009

The Light Work Annual is one of the most anticipated issues of Contact Sheet of the year. In the Annual, we feature images by our Artists-in-Residence, as well as insightful essays about their work. We also highlight the winners of our Light Work Grants in Photography program. The Annual provides a snapshot of all the exciting, ground-breaking art, exhibitions, and events that happen at Light Work over the year.

The Light Work Annual 2009, which will ship early in July, is bursting at the seams with 96 pages. It features photographs by our 2008 Artists-in-Residence including Scott Conarroe, Kelli Connell, Lola Flash, Cristina Fraire, Admas Habteslasie, Deana Lawson, Paula Luttringer, John Clark Mayden, Christine Osinski, Oscar Palacio, Xaviera Simmons, Amy Stein, Krista Steinke, and Garie Waltzer. Contributing essayists include Dawoud Bey, Julie Bolcer, Josh Brilliant, Leslie Rose Close, Karen Irvine, David L. Jacobs, Allison N. Kemmerer, Stuart Krimko, Peter MacGill, Maria Moreno, Alison Devine Nordström, Franklin Sirmans, Alec Soth, and Spring Ulmer.

If you subscribe today, you will receive The Light Work Annual 2009 as your first issue of Contact Sheet. Click here to see the 2009 subscription program offers, with beautiful prints and books that can make your subscription to Contact Sheet even sweeter.

Picturing New York: Christine Osinski

Christine Osinski, who was a Light Work Artist-in-Residence in September 2008, has photographed the activities of an all-female swimmers club on Staten Island for several years. An image from Osinski’s swimmers series is included in the exhibition Picturing New York: Photographs from The Museum of Modern Art and in the accompanying catalog.

You can see the exhibition at La Casa Encendida in Madrid through June 14 until the show travels to the Museo di arte moderna e contemporanea di Trento e Rovereto in Italy for a viewing from July 11 to October 11. The Irish Museum of Modern Art will host the final installation of the exhibition from November 25 to February 7, 2010.